Thursday, 1 March 2018

Daily Zen #essentialsofrecovery

The Four Noble Truths:

1. Life is suffering;

2. Suffering is due to attachment; 

3. Attachment can be overcome; 

4. There is a path for accomplishing this.

The Eightfold Path:

1. Right view is the true understanding of the four noble truths. 

2. Right aspiration is the true desire to free oneself from attachment, ignorance, and hatefulness.

3. Right speech involves abstaining from lying, gossiping, or hurtful talk. 

4. Right action involves abstaining from hurtful behaviors, such as killing, stealing, and careless sex. 

5. Right livelihood means making your living in such a way as to avoid dishonesty and hurting others, including animals.

6. Right effort is a matter of exerting oneself in regards to the content of one's mind: Bad qualities should be abandoned and prevented from arising again; Good qualities should be enacted and nurtured. 

7. Right mindfulness is the focusing of one's attention on one's body, feelings, thoughts, and consciousness in such a way as to overcome craving, hatred, and ignorance. 

8. Right concentration is meditating in such a way as to progressively realize a true understanding of imperfection, impermanence, and non-separateness. 
Why not sign up to get emails with all daily posts included?
Or Follow Us On Twitter #essentialsofrecovery


Post a Comment