Sunday, 3 March 2019

Daily Zen

Even though the training in ethics takes many forms, the ethics of abandoning the ten non-virtues is their basis. Of the ten non-virtues, three pertain to bodily actions, four to verbal actions, and three to mental actions. 

The three mental non-virtues are:

1. Covetousness: thinking, "May this become mine," desiring something that belongs to another.

2. Harmful intent: wishing to injure others, be it great or small injury.

3. Wrong view: viewing some existent thing, such as rebirth, cause and effect, or the Three Jewels*, as non-existent.

The opposite of these ten non-virtues are the ten virtues, and engaging in them is called the practice of ethics.

*The core of Buddhism: Buddha, his doctrine (Dharma), and the Spiritual Community.

From "The Pocket Dalai Lama," edited by Mary Craig, 2002. Reprinted by arrangement with Tambala Publications, Boston,  
Why not sign up to get emails with all daily posts included?
Or Follow Us On Twitter #essentialsofrecovery

No comments:

Post a comment